.

The Boy Scouts of America Lose Funding

Intel stops donations until ban on gay scouts and scout leaders is lifted.

 

Financial supporters of the Boy Scouts of America have been under firm pressure by gay rights organizations demanding that companies take a stand against the youth organization whose policy discriminates against people based on their sexual orientation.

The push might just be working. This week the BSA lost funding from their largest corporate funder, Intel, which reportedly gave the youth organization more than $700,000 in 2010.

The move resulted from a campaign launched by Eagle Scout Zach Wahls, founder of Scouts for Equality, who started a campaign at Change.org. He  urged Intel to pull funding for BSA after an American Independent report disclosed that the company gave large contributions to the organization. With the support of GLAAD and the signatures of 30,000 Americans, Wahls pushed the Intel Foundation to halt their financial support to the BSA.

In a statement to ThinkProgress, Intel reaffirmed their policy, claiming that it will not fund “organizations that discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, veteran or disability status.”

According to ThinkProgress, prospective recipients of Intel grants will now have to sign a statement confirming that they do not discriminate based on creed or sexual orientation, and any groups that cannot do so will be ineligible for funding.

Under the policy, Boy Scout troops and councils that refuse to uphold the BSA’s discriminating policy would still be eligible for funding. Intel’s Chief Diversity Officer, Rosalind Hudnell, wrote in the statement;

Due to significant growth in the number of organizations funded, earlier this year we revisited our policies associated with the program, and applied new rigor that requires any organization to confirm that it adheres to Intel’s anti-discrimination policy in order to receive funding. Intel is committed to fostering a culture of inclusion and to supporting the communities in which we live and work.

Trouble first started brewing for the BSA in April 2012 when Jennifer Tyrrell, a mom and den leader from Ohio was removed from her 7-year-old’s Cub Scout Pack for being gay. GLAAD then started the lean on the BSA to end their ban on gay scouts and scout leaders by starting a Change.org petition in support of Tyrell. The petition attracted more than 330,000 signatures.

Since then, gay rights supporters have been demanding that the BSA reverse their policy. CEOs for both AT&T and Ernst and Young issued statements saying they disagreed with the ban on gay scouts and scout leaders and supported a proposed resolution to end the ban.

Even President Obama and Mitt Romney agree that the BSA should not discriminate against people based on their sexual orientation. 

Many families have chosen to boycott the youth organization, removing their sons from troops or not permitting their sons to join in protest of the anti-gay policy. This choice has opened many family conversations around the dinner table about gay rights and discrimination.

The BSA has agreed to review the ban on homosexuals but as of now, no changes have been announced. 

Should the Boy Scouts give in to pressure to lift the ban? Is your family boycotting the BSA? Do you talk to your children about gay rights? Please share your thoughts and experiences in the comments.

Michael k October 02, 2012 at 12:49 AM
When is a moderator going to remove the NJ4America posting? As far as gay being all about sex talk, that's an interesting perspective. I disagree. I've never had a conversation with anyone about his or her gay sex life but it may be that I'm the exception. I certainly wouldn't want an adult discussing sex with my child in any manner. Has the BSA specifically banned prostitutes? I would think they would be talking about sex all the time as well since it is their job. And maybe strippers. Hermaphrodites also. It isn't their job but the sex subject might come up too often. This certainly makes more sense than the gay rubbing off.
Amy L October 02, 2012 at 01:04 AM
Just going to copy/paste my earlier post here since it is relevant to her point and I am feeling lazy: "You guys are really stupid if you think that the current ban on gays is really keeping them out of the scouts. It is true that some will avoid the BSA because they want to make a statement about not supporting it, but I feel many just join anyway and take their chances with discovery. The organization does a lot of very good things and people want to be a part of that. The only thing that will change when the BSA stops banning gays is that the gays ALREADY IN THE SCOUTS will no longer have to be afraid that they will be kicked out." I re-posted this because it illustrates why the handedness argument is relevant. Lets say the BSA had a ban on left handed people. Hypothetical left handed kid REALLY wants to join boy scouts because his brother was an eagle scout or something. He could practice like hell at pretending to be right handed and possibly become almost as good. He would still be left handed though. He would have to constantly fear that a thoughtless gesture would "out" him and get him banned. "Handedness and race have nothing behavioral to cause anyone to shun them." If you really believe gay people deserve what they get because they make other people uncomfortable just by being who they are then we really don't have anything more to say to each other.
Tammy Osier October 02, 2012 at 01:36 AM
Amy I wasn't talking about holding hands. You missed the initial coming out (must be young) - it was kind of graphic. I noted the rest of your post - twice assuming I said something I didn't. Did I say anyone deserved anything? No I didn't. Sorry, but I don't make it a habit to converse when the conversation becomes a twisting of my words. And I was being general, trying to show why I believe some people think the way they do. Bottom line is that a private organization has the right to set the standard for their PRIVATE organization. I just can't help but think that there was more to the original story for this to even be news.
Duluth2 October 02, 2012 at 01:43 AM
Just sharing a link: http://www.inclusivescouting.net/
Tammy Osier October 02, 2012 at 01:51 AM
http://www.wdwinfo.com/disney-gay-days.htm Good article. Here's an excerpt from the gay male that wrote it "..NEVER ONCE was I treated any differently than any other guest – it was a non issue – the way it should be. That’s Disney's policy and it’s a good one. In return for that, my partner and I act appropriately when we’re in public – the way any couple should – straight or gay. And before I get any emails from my gay brethren calling me a ‘self loathing aunt tom’ (someone actually called me that once), let me be clear – I’m proud of who and what I am. I just don’t feel the need to force feed it to the world in that way. Disney is a place where reality is suspended, at least for a time. It’s not a place for anyone’s political agenda – right or left." "....and in my opinion, deformed into what is now nothing more than a vile spectacle of self indulgence and indecency. No matter how prudish that last sentence may sound, trust me – I’m no prude. I have a liberal streak that cuts through me like a hot knife through butter, but I like to think that I was raised with a certain sense of decency and a pretty good sense of right and wrong. There is a time and a place for everything, and Disney World is neither in this instance." I think he helps me rest my case. People see and hear that and form their opinions from what is made public.
Allison Knight-Khan October 02, 2012 at 02:13 AM
I would like to congratulate Leigh Hewett for writing a great article that started a fire!
Allison Knight-Khan October 02, 2012 at 02:18 AM
Amy L, you have the right to your opinion, your lifestyle and your choice of religion and I have a right to mine. Inshallah, God-willing, I will pass my beliefs on to three beautiful children. God bless!
Tammy Osier October 02, 2012 at 02:37 AM
Alison - as I said a little while ago, it baffles me that the people who holler the most about rights want to take up a full page arguing against your rights when you express your right to your belief. Amazing. Watch out now, you'll soon be denigrated for passing your beliefs on to your children because some don't agree with them (just giving you a warning-lol). I'd like to congratulate you and others for not resorting to name calling and condescension, and twisting your words. Taking either the high road or low road reveals much about the writer in my opinion. You have taken the high road and have a lot of courage.
Leigh Hewett October 02, 2012 at 02:56 AM
Thanks Allison and thanks to everyone for reading and joining in the discussion. With the exception of a few wackadoo intense exchanges, I think that many of you have held down some amazing and respectable debates. My hope was to get people talking and you guys have certainly hit this from almost every angle. Thanks again for all the comments.
Robert E October 02, 2012 at 03:26 AM
Heterosexuals don't talk around talking about their sex life or inject it into every conversation. Obviously you have never been camping with 20 boys that all they talk about. The boys forget that tent walls do not stop sound when you listen to them at night all they talk about is their girlfrends.
Tammy Osier October 02, 2012 at 10:38 AM
But Robert, adults are not talking about theirs to little boys. I think that's what some are trying to say that they want to be cautious of.
Racer X October 02, 2012 at 11:41 AM
I think the fact that this is even an issue illustrates how far from common sense we have strayed in the interest of "Political Correctness". The BSA is a time honored American tradition. That organization has had more influence in shaping today's real men than any other. Even Obama was a Boy Scout....oh.....wait a minute.......I forgot, uh......never mind. Now that I think about it, that explains a lot. Get ready Far Left cry babies, the Scouts are coming.
Racer X October 02, 2012 at 11:53 AM
C.J.- This discussion is about the BSA, not Home Depot. Again, please boycott the BSA, that would be awesome. It'll give the BSA a great boost, just like Chik-fil-a.
Grant October 02, 2012 at 01:21 PM
Yeah ... Are you ctually reading what you write at this point Tammy? It's a good thing heterosexuals have NEVER acted inappropriately in public. That NEVER happens but if it did it would make all heterosexuals look bad and cause issues for other heterosexuals who had nothing to do with those inappropriate acts.. Do you see the folly in your attempt at cogent argument? Or shall I further illustrate the apparent disconnect by providing links to a few hundred instances of public sexual misconduct by heteros? Interesting (but rather typical of you) that you have a token gay friend who talks about sex all the time and you conclude from that that it is some sort of trait shared by all homosexuals.
Michael k October 02, 2012 at 01:21 PM
If your objection is political correctness run amok, ok. If it is that BSA is a private organization and can decide its policies, ok. If your objection is that you don't want gays around your children because "Heterosexuals don't talk around talking about their sex life or inject it into every conversation" then you are insane. If you objection is "Gays are free to make their own choices, but I would not choose one to babysit my children, nor would I put them under their care. It isn't about pedophilia. It's about being straight." You may not be a bigot but you aren't taking the high road.
Jesse October 02, 2012 at 04:48 PM
Do you seriously believe that a person breathing on you can give you AIDS or STD's? You can't be fore real, if you really believe this, you have to be the most uneducated and ignorant person on the planet. What year is it in your world? Did you hit your head recently, do you need someone to call help for you? For God's sake, educate yourself... http://www.aids.org/topics/aids-faqs/how-is-hiv-transmitted/
Robert E October 02, 2012 at 05:29 PM
This ban is not just about gay scout leaders but gay scouts as well don't you think they could benifit from the values scouting teaches? "The BSA is a time honored American tradition." so was slavery to bad the Far Left cry babies ruined that too Mike.
thcooper69 October 03, 2012 at 12:22 AM
a while back ago an eagle scout actually came out and said he was giving back his eagle badge ,because he didnt like the way scouting didnt like gays agenda and felt it was unfair ! he mailed it back ,what was bsa comment ? that boy spent years listening to the scout law and oath he knew what was up !morraly straight means morraly straight ,not turning to tha left .
Scott Terry October 03, 2012 at 02:22 AM
Well, if that "morraly straight" scout was illiterate, he has probably failed at everything in life. Scouts succeed from intellect and knowing the correct reaction in any given situation. You, clearly have not the intellect nor common sense of a scout. For these reasons, the scouts would prefer that you no longer speak on their behalf going forward. Good Day Sir!
J Wo November 21, 2012 at 07:02 PM
As an Eagle Scout, I think the BSA has the right to discriminate as they see fit since they are a private organization. As an Eagle Scout I am also ashamed at how the BSA doesn't practice what it preaches. They discriminate and didn't report sexual crimes to the police... somethings wrong. I know that they BSA's action have tarnished my Eagle Scout award. There is alot good with the BSA, but apparently there is also alot that is shameful and regrettable.
J Wo November 21, 2012 at 07:07 PM
Morally straight means not discriminating against someone just because you disagree with them, because they are a different race, religion or anything else. Morally straight means accepting people who are different and that you disagree with. Morally straight is also spelled with one r in morally.
thcooper69 November 22, 2012 at 11:25 AM
j wo ,it would possibly be best if u jus returded ur eagle badge ,with that R an with a letter of shame ! an see if they care . the boy scouts dont want gays in there ranks or flamin scouts . there badges most of them are .red white and blue . not the color of tha rainbow
Racer X November 22, 2012 at 01:01 PM
Obviously the Scouts should report any kind of abuse to authorities. As far as discrimination goes, the Scouts are taking boys and helping to teach them how to be men, not pansies. Gays, have fun, knock yourselves out, most people don't care one way or the other, but there is one great truth that can never be ignored: If you are going to march to the beat of a different drum, you have to stay out of the parade.
Racer X November 22, 2012 at 01:06 PM
There is the BSA and there is the GSA, which are based on which sex a kid is and their respective normal sexual orientation. Why don't those who don't fit into those two categories start the QSA? Problem solved.
Ned Lane March 05, 2013 at 08:16 PM
i am disappointed in the Boy Scouts intolerance. I think boys who may one day turn out to be gay, and boys who will turn out to be hetero, could benefit from being boy scouts.
thcooper69 March 05, 2013 at 10:13 PM
just because obama and mit romney said something dosnt always mean its true ,these guys told lies and bent the truth to get elected .thay will tell u anything for a vote there pas track record on gays were that THAY were against gays .but come near election time ,THAY changed there tune jus to get votes .! the boy scouts have codes ,laws and moto ,they live by ! using the bible and teaching boys cleanliness both morally and externally . homosesexuality is against god laws . and the bible CLearly states what will happen to gays and that THAY are unclean chatholics make up most of scouts and they would pull there funding and scouting would stop . as far as tha military goes u may here gays are allowed but out in tha field its a tottaly diff ball game ..blanket partys with rifle buts are tha norm with scouts tha boys dont like being around gay boys and will torment themb with blanket partys . smearing beanut butter and jelly all ova the inside of there sleepin bags and clothes so ants will get on them . hiding there things soaking all there things with water so THEY will spend a cold nite in tha woods . by morning tha gay boys are always whinin and wantin there momas and jus to get a ride home . boys are ruthless way more than regular society and dont wana be viewd as a side of meat in tha meat market . gays dont belong in tha military or scouting
Robert E March 05, 2013 at 10:24 PM
As a Scoutmaster let me set this straight the BSA is not a Christian organization and is open to boys of all faiths and is in no way based on the bible. The only religious requirement is that they believe in some sort of higher power everything else is between the boy and his god. Part of being a Scout is respecting the rights of other scouts to believe what they want. Don't forget not all Religions consider homosexulaty to be a sin not even all denominations of Christianity feel it is a sin.
Maureenfh March 05, 2013 at 10:50 PM
thcooper69, it sounds to me like the mean boys need to learn how to treat others. Whether BSA is a Christian organization or not, I'm pretty sure Jesus didn't condone treating people like you describe. If scouting permits such cruel behavior among boys, maybe no one belongs in the Boy Scouts. I certainly hope that your experiences are the exception and not the norm.
Robert E March 06, 2013 at 04:04 AM
Maureenfh that kind of neanderthal behaviour would not be tolerated in any Scout Troop that I know of. This goes against everything the Boy Scouts stand for.
Racer X March 06, 2013 at 01:06 PM
thcooper69- Your spelling, grammar and punctuation are atrocious. No matter what you write, you are going to look ignorant unless you get it together. Please tell me you are in the second grade.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something