UGA Presidential Search Committee Named

A 21-person group will pick a replacement for President Michael Adams, who leaves in 2013.

They are drawn from just about every constitutent group involved with the University of Georgia: students, alumni, faculty, staff, regents. And the 23 people named Friday to the UGA Presidential Search Committee will soon be working together to select the next president for the state's flagship institution.

According to a story in the Athens Banner Herald, Regent Larry Walker, the former Democratic Majority Leader of the Georgia House, and a college and law school graduate of UGA, will chair the committee.

Other member of the Board of Regents on the committee, and the schools with which they are associated, are: Rusty Griffin (UGA), Don Leebern (UGA), Dink NeSmith (UGA), Doreen Poitevint (UGA), Ben Tarbutton III (Ga.Tech) and Philip Wilheit (Sewanee).

Other committee members, according to the Banner Herald, from the University and elsewhere, are

Alan Darvill, Regents Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and Plant Biology, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, and Director of the Complex Carbohydrate Research Center;

, Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in Reproductive Physiology, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, and Director of the Regenerative Bioscience Center;

Paige Carmichael, Professor of Pathology, Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor and Associate Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine;

, Deputy Director, Carl Vinson Institute of Government, and Associate Director for the Vinson Institute’s Governmental Services and Research Division;

, Professor of Mathematics Education and Department Head of Mathematics and Science Education, College of Education, and a member of the Clarke County Board of Education;

John C. Inscoe, Albert W. Saye Professor and UGA Professor of History;

, Dean and Simon S. Selig, Jr. Chair for Economic Growth, Terry College of Business;

Jerry Daniel, Information Technology Professional, Department of Mathematics and President of the UGA Staff Council;

Will Burgess, President, UGA Student Government Association;

William D. Young Jr., President, General Wholesale Company and Chair of the University of Georgia Foundation.

Judge Steve Jones, United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia and President of the UGA Alumni Association;

Rogers Wade, President and Chief Executive Officer, Georgia Public Policy Foundation and member of the UGA Agricultural Engineering Advisory Board;

Chris Cummiskey, Commissioner, Georgia Department of Economic Development;

Larry Thompson, John A. Sibley Professor in Corporate and Business Law, School of Law; former deputy attorney general for the United States; and former senior vice president of government affairs, general counsel and secretary for PepsiCo.

Genevieve June 15, 2012 at 08:53 PM
no one from the Arts ? too bad.......
Kelly McGlaun-Fields June 16, 2012 at 02:23 PM
No one from the arts and very few women,


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »